Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Erath Republican Party hosts candidate forums

The Erath County Republican Party will host the first of two planned  candidate forums on Monday, Jan. 27 at 6:30 p.m. in the Bond Auditorium (2655 W. Overhill Drive) in Stephenville.

The meetings will be held in preparation for the March 3 primary elections, giving each candidate a chance to speak and answer five questions from a moderator. 

The first forum will focus on local races and include all candidates for Erath County Sheriff,  County Commissioner Precinct 1 and 3 and constable of Precinct 2.  

These include incumbent Matt Coates and Kent Howell in the sheriff race, incumbent Dee Stephens and Terry Truss for Precinct 1 commissioner, incumbent Joe Brown and Justin Slawson for Precinct 3 commissioner and Ryan Gibson and Jonathan Walden for constable of Precinct 2.

Candidates running for statewide office including the candidates running for State Representative District 59 will take part in a forum on Feb. 10 at 6:30 p.m. Republican candidates  vying for the seat in the primary include incumbent Dr. J.D. Sheffield, Cody Johnson and Shelby Slawson.

The last day for voters to register to vote for the primary elections will be Feb. 3 with early voting running from Feb. 21 to Feb. 28.

Dublin Citizen

938 N. Patrick
Dublin, TX 76446
254-445-4116 (f)