Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Farewell, Dublin High

M ore than $50,000 in scholarships and awards were presented to members of the Dublin High School Class of 2019 as they walked the stage Friday night.

Valedictorian Tayleigh Pendleton was presented with the Highest Ranking Senior Award, which provides a tuition waiver for her first year of college through the TEA.

Salutatorian was presented with four scholarships: Dublin FFA ($1,250), Dublin Rotary Club ($500), Gene Leatherwood Memorial Scholarship ($500), Ford Driving Dreams ($2,000) and Tarleton Upward Bound ($1,000).

Liman Herrera was also presented with the Ranger College Presidential Scholarship for the full cost of tuition, fees, books and lodging at the dorm.

Samantha Calderon was presented with the Dwain & Carolyn Bruner Endowed Scholarship Award (four years, $1,500).

Addison Stout was presented with six scholarships: the LaNell Whitehead Memorial Scholarship ($1,250), Dublin Athletic Booster Club ($1,000), Express Ranch Championship ($2,000), Beukeboom Dairy ($800), Mickey Belew Memorial Scholarship ($500) and Dublin Garden Club ($500).

Brooklynn Johnson was awarded four scholarships: Dublin Athletic Booster Club ($1,000), Everett Hightower Memorial Scholarship from the Dublin Lions Club ($1,000), Dr. TJ Johnson & Stephen Layne Johnson Memorial Scholarship ($500) and Dublin American Legion Post 219 ($500).

Jared ricks was presented with four scholarships: Dublin Athletic Booster Club ($1,000), Mickey Belew Memorial Foundation ($1,000), University of Texas Permian Basin Freshman Grant ($1,500) and Texas Midwest Community Network ($667).

Andrea Medina received $4,000 through the Rose Lafferty & Flora Foust educational funds, $500 through the Mary Lynn Neff Memorial Scholarship and $1,000 through Tarleton’s Upward Bound. Iris Ruiz was awarded $5,000 through the Rose Lafferty & Flora Foust educational funds, and $1000 each from the Stephenville Study Club and Higginbotham Brothers.

Yakelin Morantes was presented with the Dublin Intermediate Helping Hands award ($500) and a St. Mary’s Catholic Church scholarship ($300).

Blake Porter received $1,000 scholarships through the Dublin athletic Booster Club and Mickey Belew Memorial Foundation.

Daniel Riley was presented with $1,000 from the Dublin Athletic Booster Club and $500 from the Dublin Elementary Ann Gibson Memorial fund.

Andrew Dudley also got $1,000 scholarships through the Dublin Athletic Booster Club and Dublin Masonic Lodge.

Sayra Nevarez was presented with $1,000 from Texas Bank and $800 Dream Catcher Dairy.

Jose Calderon received $800 through the Dream Catcher Dairy and $250 through KWBY/KATX radio stations.

The Dublin Athletic BoosterClubalsopresented $1,000 scholarships to Casyn Ballenger and Tyler Bell.

Texas Midwest Community Network also presented$667scholarships to Curtis Adams and Seth McDonald-Rodriguez.

Other awards presented included:

■Knights of Pythias to Jasmin Rojas ($1,000)

■Dublin Masonic Lodge to Bianca Gonzalez ($1,000)

■ Texas Bank to Florencia Lopez ($1,000)

■Hazelwood Barkley Foundation to Miriam Almazan ($1,000)

■ Tarleton Upward Bound to Jakob Seals ($1,000) ■ West Central Wireless to Estephany Garcia ($500) ■ Dream Catcher Dairy to Julio Calderon ($800)

■Town & Country Bank to Brenda Banda ($500) During the ceremony, Andra Medina led the Pledge of Allegiance; Brenda Banda led the National Anthem; Curtis Adams delivered the benediction; and Jasmin Rojas led the School Song.

Dublin Citizen

938 N. Patrick
Dublin, TX 76446
254-445-4116 (f)