Runoffs begin Monday

Erath voters get another turn at the polls next week as the runoff elections from the March 6 elections start into early voting Monday.

Early ballots may be cast at the Erath County Courthouse in Stephenville and Dublin County Annex (219 S. Grafton) from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Wednesday and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on May 17 and 18.

The polls will open on election day (May 22) from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the courthouse, annex, TexasBank in Stephenville and the Huckabay School Building.

Voters who cast ballots in the March primaries will have to vote in the same party for the runoff elections.

Runoffs are being held in three local races for Republican voters.

Alfonso Campos and Shelby Slawson are squaring off for Erath County Judge after Campos got 2,254 votes and Slawson received 2,184 in March.

Albert Ray is once again facing incumbent Herbert Brown for County Commissioner Precinct 2 after receiving 474 and 390 votes respectively.

In Precinct 4, Jim Buck and John Wooley will once again vie for the commissioner seat after earning 690 and 420 votes in March respectively. 

There will be statewide runoffs in two Democratic primary races with Lupe Valdez and Andrew White squaring off again for the governor nomination and Julie Oliver and Chris Perri facing off for U.S. Representative District 25. 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet