Primaries result in runoff elections

Erath primary voters can expect to go to the polls again on May 22 with several races facing runoff elections following close results.
The 6,238 Republican voters were split on their decision for judge with Alfonso Campos garnering 2,254 votes (36.93 percent) and Shelby Slawson gathering 2,184 (35.79). They will face each other again on May 22. Other results included: Jon Koonsman, 812 votes; Heath Allen, 642; and Jack Bragg Jr., 212.
County Commissioners Precinct 2 and 4 will also be facing runoffs.
Leading Precinct 2 were Albert Ray (474 votes, 35.45 percent) and Herbert Brown (390, 29.17). Remaining votes were split with 246 going to Scotty Whitefield and 227 going to Jim Pool.
Leading Precinct 4 was Jim Buck with 690 votes (43.75 percent) and John Wooley with 420 (26.63). Cody Scott had 235 and Shane Stegall had 232.
Other local races included sheriff, which incumbent Matt Coates won with 3,181 votes (52.04 percent). He was followed by Clell Murray (1,274 votes), Bobby Harpole (909) and Paul Tyus (690).
Kimberly Dowell Barrier narrowly won the county treasurer race with 2,880 votes (52.04 percent) to Kelli Bedwell Raymond’s 2,654 (47.96).

Statewide elections
In state elections, Erath Republicans followed other Districts in all but three cases. Erath voters narrowly picked Chris Evans (2,983 votes, 50.51 percent) to J.D. Sheffield (2,923, 49.49) for State Representative. Sheffield won the district-wide election.
In Court of Criminal Appeals, Erath also chose David Bridges (2,401, 50.18) over Sharon Keller (2,384, 49.82), who won the statewide pick.
Erath Republicans were split on the Place 8 pick for Court of Criminal Appeals with Michelle Slaughter getting 2,155 votes (47.45) to Jay Brandon’s 1,635 (36) and Dib Waldrip’s 752. Slaughter won the election overall.
In other state races, Erath Republicans picked the winners, including Greg Abbott for governor (5,310, 89.74); Dan Patrick for Lt. Governor (4,152, 71.29); Ted Cruz for U.S. Senator (5,066, 86.54); Mike Conaway for U.S. Representative, District 11 (2,110, 75.79); George P. Bush for Land Commissioner (3,648, 66.48); Sid Miller for Agriculture Commissioner (4,275, 72.31); and Christi Craddick for Railroad Commissioner (3,911, 77.05).
There will be statewide runoffs in two Democratic primary races with the 514 Erath voters similarly split on decisions.
Lupe Valdez and Andrew White will be squaring off again for the governor nomination. In Erath, Valdez got 223 votes (46.36) to Andrew White’s 131 (27.23). Adrian Ocegueda was third for Erath with 41 votes followed by Jeffrey Payne (25), Grady Yarbrough (25), Tom Wakely (14), James Jolly Clark (7) and Joe Humbatch (1).
Julie Oliver and Chris Perri will face off on May 22 for U.S. Representative District 25. Oliver had 70 of Erath’s votes (33.49 percent) but was followed closely by Kathi Thomas with 69 (33.01). Perri got 43 and West Hansen had 22.
Erath Democrats followed the trends in other races, which included Mike Collier for Lt. Governor (303, 65.30), Beto O’Rourke for U.S. Senator (309, 62.93), Jennie Lou Leeder (204, 80.63), Joi Chevalier for comptroller of Public Accounts (238, 52.54), Miguel Suazo for land commissioner (274, 59.57) and Roman McAllen for railroad commissioner (238, 53.13). 
All propositions were approved in both Erath primaries with the lowest being Prop 1 (63.68 percent) for the Republican side and Prop 8 (87.73) being the lowest in Democratic election.  

Rate this article: 
No votes yet